Cricket While Travelling


The clock already timed 9:00 a.m and I had missed half of the batting by Pakistan. Like all other Pakistanis, I just took a cup of tea with half of my mind sleeping but eyes widely opened, quickly switched on television screen and sat on sofa comfortably to enjoy Pak vs SA ICC cricket World Cup 2015. In the meanwhile, my dad came to me and asked to pack bags we are leaving for Hyderabad today. My expressions were surprising and I replied with a low tone, Today? What I heard in return was, we will be leaving Karachi in an hour.

Constantly trying fm radio to be fixed out but it distorted badly then my sister, my cousin and I put earphones on and maintain our focus on fm 103 which was doing live commentary about match as it was the only medium which was our exclusive need. We were on national highway moving toward Hyderabad. The weather was little cloudy with splashes of cold wind hitting our faces through car window. The scenery was immensely beautiful.

The cricket match started becoming too interesting, so as our moods. The wickets lined up to fall against Pakistani bowling and we were cheering louder and louder as the wicket goes down. In between, we lost radio signals several times but I was receiving sms, watsapp updates and excitement survived. We stopped for tea at Ali Baba restaurant, which is beside CNG station. Ear phones still on, louder shout and distracting radio signals, cricket was going outstanding and Pakistan won against South Africa.

As I looked out of the window, we were entering Hyderabad city and the weather was bit warm there. I mean it was hot, summers are almost here. Our hungry stomachs were craving for food and we rested at KFC. I tasted Rice and Spice while others took burgers. As we came out of KFC, I noticed a Chai wala(tea maker) was making tea and a group of young boys were gathered around him. And AB De Villiers of South Africa was the point of discussion among them as he stayed long on pitch at Eden Park, Auckland in the match against Pakistan and it was again about cricket. OH yes, South African players are being famous in the streets of Hyderabad too.

Leave a Reply

